Home

Exploring Photography for my song

Before doing my self directed drawing study I took a series of photos that related to my song. I used a jar, some stars and ribbon I brought at the mall and I created an orange sea background with blue clouds attached to it. I wanted to try capturing some of the lyrics in a photo.

IMG_7060 edit

IMG_7062 edit

IMG_7070 edit and crop

IMG_7071 edit

Overall I am rather pleased with these photos. I especially like the black and white ones which is strange because the song is more suited to artwork being in colour. I think the black and white gives the shapes more elegance and glamour. The shininess of the stars and the glass of the jar work really well together and I think the black and white just enhances the simplicity. The colour photos show the orange sea in the background and also the silvery ribbon that is woven around the jar. The colour is attractive but the photo to me feels less precise and professional which is not the effect I was going for.

Leave a comment