Home

I discovered that two of the most memorable scenes in the play were in fact two scenes I selected: the fairground and sewer scene. It was for this reason that I wanted to find something alternative in which I could discover new designs and find an interesting context.

For my chosen scene, I have decided to explore the stair scene at the beginning of The Third Man. Although this does not seem like an obvious choice, I wanted to mix what I had learnt from the three films in order to not forget what they had taught me.  What interested me about the stairs scene was the style of the interior of the building, the light and the shadows and how all together which the shooting angle made really interesting components.  I loved throughout the movie the contrast between exterior in interior and that influenced me a lot in the choice of this scene.

The Art Nouveau style of the interior also played a factor in my choice. I have not had the chance to explore the patterns and characteristics and I would also like to look more in depth at artists of this movement as well especially those who were primarily based in Europe and in particular Austria. In order to gather research for this I will definitely try to use a wide range of sources.

 

My chosen scene is at 4:26 – 4.59 of the film The Third Man.

Here are some screenshots of that scene.

Stairs 1

A first sight this interior is really strong, we can immediately identify it as a European Art Nouveau style.I love the shadows cast on the wall and floor from the glass conservatory section. Due to the film’s black and white aspect, the strength of the building and the shapes and forms within create predominant lines.

Stairs 2

 

The angle looking down upon  the character and his position in the archway makes for a very bold effect. The way that even though object are meant to be in complete shadow, the way the scene has been thought out makes all the objects in the room clear and distinct.

Stairs 3

The staircase evokes a strong visual richness and creates a stunning repeat pattern which adds to the impact of the scene. Not only the staircase but lots of the patterns in the scene are repeated and therefore generate a eye-catching arrangement that helps our eyes to follow Martins up the staircase.

Stairs 4

This is one of the Dutch angles of the scene, which gives us strong bold lines that cut up different sections of the stairs. Again, the repeat pattern helps our eyes to focus on the strongest part of the scene, the Porter and door. This adds crucial importance to a very important dialogue which will soon take place.

Stairs 5

Light and shadow again plays a big factor in this scene and much alike the last, the repeat pattern of the staircase draws our eyes to the shadow of Martins and his shadow on the stairs.  The different layers of floors pictured in this scene create yet another repeated pattern.

 

Leave a Reply

