Home

In terms of architecture, I thought of the 1900 Entrance to the Paris Subway by Hector Guimard. I found myself comparing the similar styles in terms of form and structure. I find the distinguishable architectural structure fascinating and I really love how it is pieced together. When we look at forms such as this one and the shapes in the film The Third Man, we realise how much of a step this is architecturally speaking.

metropolitan montmartre abbesses

Source: http://www.wpjrnl.com/2010/10/18/metropolitan-montmartre-abbesses/

 

After looking at the idea of repeated patterns, I immediately thought of Andy Warhol and his use of repeated pattern in both Campbell’s Soup Cans (1962)  and Marilyn (1969), two of Warhol’s more famous pieces.They make a big statement just as the staircase does in The Third Man. The idea of repeat patterns are really effective and eye-catching. It helps the viewer of the piece to follow a distinct link or draw our eye to something. Not only that it aides us to remember a message, in Warhol’s Campbell’s soup case, it reminds us of the soup itself, acting as an advertising.  The scene I have chosen stuck in my brain due to the beautiful architecture which involves repeated patterns.

campbells_soup_cans_moma1Campbell’s Soup Cans (1962)

Source: http://www.soundguideweb.com/fhdforeifjifvjqvjfiogapjgigjqvqiojqiogfiqopoii/warhol/warholdif.htm

image_11659Marilyn (1969)

Source: http://artsplas.mangin.free.fr/repere___warhol__andy___marilyn_1967_14675.htm

 

When watching the film, William Morris came to mind as an artist. I am still not sure why this is seeing as though he only just touched on Art Nouveau with the Arts and Crafts movement. However I think the patterns on the decor of the interior made me think of his work, especially as patterns such as his could have easily been present in homes architecturally structured as this one. I feel Morris’ work to day is slightly old fashioned and definately based toward this era however I admire the intricacy and detail that is put into his work. Even though it could be seen as old fashion, it is still something I am sure is used today.

Embroidered_Panel_Morris_and_CompanyAcanthus embroidered panel, designed Morris, 1890

 

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Morris#mediaviewer/File:Embroidered_Panel_Morris_and_Company.jpg

La tournée du Chat Noir, a poster by Rodolphe Salis (1896) is a French Art Nouveau style piece. The colours and patterns depicted in the image are typical of this era. By looking at it we could cite it in this period. I love this poster for these main things and although the film did not make me think of this at first, it is to me something that makes me think of Art Nouveau, I therefore felt it important to cite it in my research even briefly.

220px-Théophile-Alexandre_Steinlen_-_Tournée_du_Chat_Noir_de_Rodolphe_Salis_(Tour_of_Rodolphe_Salis'_Chat_Noir)_-_Google_Art_ProjectLa Tournée du Chat Noir, Rodolphe Salis (1896)

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Th%C3%A9ophile_Steinlen

Leave a Reply

