Home

After making a final outcome for the first part of my project, I was lost on how to continue from a stop point. I finally managed to find a topic that inspired me, that led on from what I had been looking at previously. I had touched a lot on the notion of home and the meaning of home, now I wanted to take a look at more the roots of a human and how that connects with the term home. This subject is something that effects me in a big way and I think the work that I can produce around this topic will be interesting and insightful.

My first point of inspiration was actually watching Bend it like Beckham. In this film, there is a strong focus on Indian culture. I find this culture colourful and beautiful in many ways, their beliefs, clothes, ways of life are all things that really interest me and during this film all of these are highlighted. What was interesting to me about this was the fact that even if the Indian family had moved to the UK, they still kept all their traditions and installed some of them on their children whilst mixing in a new culture. I found that a lot of expatriates have this same mindset, including my own family.

Bend-It-Like-Beckham-dvd-cover

Source: http://jrhysmeyers.com/filmography/bend-it-like-beckham

I decided to start off by looking at my own journey.  Although my family lives in France, we still have strong influences from our lives in England. A lot of objects and ornaments we own have been brought from England and look almost out of place in the Provencal house. I thought the best way to illustrate this quirky decor was to photograph it. This small selection are the ones I appreciate the most.

_MG_1864 _MG_1870 _MG_1876 _MG_1877 _MG_1944

My favourite photo is the one showing the tea. I feel that tea is a very English quality and my family still drink a lot so I felt this photo related to the message I wanted to say. We can see in the background the tiles in the kitchen that do not have such a British feel making an interesting juxtaposition with the tea-pot. I think the lines of the pattern on the tea-pot and the tiles are highlighted in this black and white photo, when I explored all the photos I felt this particular one stood out more in black and white as opposed to colour. At the moment, I am really enjoying exploring black and white photography and I’d like to try and use it throughout this project.

I decided to do some research to help me discover different pieces of artwork that had been created by expatriate artists. I wanted to be more informed about what else people had created but also if I could find it out, their thought processes behind their work.

After doing some research I was surprised at the amount of artists, especially famous ones, who have migrated from their own country to another country for a range of different reasons.  Some of these artists I already knew such as Pablo Picasso, who migrated from Spain to France in the early 20th century, and Vincent Van Gogh, who migrated from his homeland in Holland to many places such as London, Brussels and most notably Paris.  Both artists have created phenomenal work and have been influenced by their travels. Picasso created an era of Cubism with his work Les Demoiselles d’Avignon whilst in Paris, using new techniques and styles that no one in the art world had previously explored. Along with French artist Georges Braque he became a pioneer of this movement. After moving to France, Van Gogh studied all manner of painters, he was highly influenced by the impressionists colours and light. When taking a strong interest in Japanese art, another fellow artist Toulouse-Lautrec who told him that Arles had the same light as Japan, so Van Gogh moved to Arles to paint further. These paintings include La Chambre à Coucher and Moissons en Provence. We can see Van Gogh was highly influenced by his surroundings and took joy in exploring the light within them.

Sources of information : http://www.biography.com/people/vincent-van-gogh-9515695#artist and http://www.biography.com/people/pablo-picasso-9440021#break-into-cubism

Les_Demoiselles_d'AvignonLes Demoiselles d’Avignon, 1907

(Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Les_Demoiselles_d’Avignon)

640px-Ernte_in_der_Provénce  Moissons en Provence, 1888800px-Vincent_Willem_van_Gogh_137La Chambre à Coucher, 1888

(Source for both images: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_van_Gogh)

 

I am really interested by the inspirations that both Picasso and Van Gogh have explored. Although I am not strongly influenced by Cubism as a movement, I am intrigued by the light and colours that Van Gogh used whilst creating his pieces on Arles. I feel they highlight the beauty of the region that he explored and it makes me eager to go travelling.

Leave a Reply

