Home

During the summer holidays I was lucky enough to be able to go to Rome.  Rome is renowned for its beauty in architecture and art and I took this as an opportunity to explore these areas.

The Modern Art Museum of Rome

The Modern Art Museum of Rome is located a short way from the centre of Rome and surrounded by a selection of other themed museums.It is a stunning building and one of the famous museums of modern art in Europe. Although we walked around a fair amount of the rooms in the museum itself, we focused on seeing two exhibitions in particular that were showing at that time: Marcello Morandini and The Form of Seduction (The Female Body in the Art of the 20th Century).

Marcello Morandini is an Italian architect and artist. His exhibition really walks us through the thinking and the art behind his works that have been brought to life. It is really interesting to see the artwork he produces using cut out plastic and hard materials and how the patterns have come to be architectural displays. He works mainly with line both curved and straight and only in the black and white palette. His work reminds me of an optical illusion and sometimes when I looked at the pieces I felt them taking hold and mesmerizing me! I love how he works more in 3D to create architecture rather than making architectural plans. I feel it gives his something different in comparison with other architects. This exhibition was set over several rooms giving each piece enough space so that we could walk around it. I liked the mixture of sculpture and photographs in order to highlight Morandini’s achievements. I have never heard of him before but I am glad I got the chance to explore an exhibition on more a design level rather than just paintings and drawing work.

WP_20140904_001 WP_20140904_002 (1) WP_20140904_002 WP_20140904_003 WP_20140904_004 WP_20140904_005 WP_20140904_006

The Form of Seduction brought us though a journey of how women are shown in paintings and sculptures throughout the 20th century. The exhibition was spread over three rooms and showed works from artists such as Man Ray, Pablo Picasso and Georges Braque. The layout of the show was clear and concise and there was a designated path to follow. It made sense in the order we walked around. The sculpture and paintings were well mixed in together helping us to keep focus throughout. Because the exhibition was the middle of the museum, the light came from carefully placed spot lights on the ceiling and walls to help illuminate the pieces. One pieces that caught my attention was The Woman and the Lock by Welsh painter Merlyn Evans. I appreciate Evans piece for its delicate feel, thoughtful colour palette and abstract qualities. It caught my eye on the wall of the museum and I think it shows a very different take on the anatomy of a woman and a different side to the beauty of women. I like the fact that is also includes a loveheart shape in a more cubist style piece of art.

WP_20140904_007 WP_20140904_009 WP_20140904_010

I was also pleased to be able to see Marcel Duchamp’s work and in particular Fountain, which I wrote about in my essay on Modernism. It was great to explore the piece in real life after learning so much about it!

_MG_2199 _MG_2200

Villa Borghese 

I also got the chance to go the the Villa Borghese. The Villa Borghese is an art collection including painting sculpture and antiques that were owned by the Cardinal Scipione Borghese. Walking through the ground floor of the gallery, I was mesmerized by the intricacy of the sculptures and the detail that was put into them. On one of the sculptures, Rape of Proserpina by sculptor Bernini, the detail was so clear that you could see Pluto’s mark of where his hand pressed into her thigh. I was also very taken by the detail on the bed of Pauline Bonaparte by Antonio Canova. The bed sheet looks almost real to touch, the effects on the marble sculptures were just unbelievable.

When looking up at the ceilings, the artwork stood out as it was amazingly well done. It had such a 3D effect you felt as though the scene was taking place above your head. I did look a little round the first floor which was home of the paintings however I was not taken by the paintings as much as I was with the sculptures, they really stood out for me.

_MG_2204

_MG_2234 _MG_2235 _MG_2239 _MG_2240

_MG_2205

 

_MG_2243

Leave a Reply

