Home

I decided to start my project by conducting some general research on the internet. I wanted to get some solid ideas and opinions before starting to create.

The first word I looked up was Home. I came across a documentary visual film by French Ecologist Yann Arthus-Bertrand.  As I was unsure of a clear starting point, I thought why not watch this film.

Home – Film by Yann Arthus-Bertrand

( Source : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqxENMKaeCU)

Home was a rather thought provoking film, its main aim of course to make us aware of what is happening in the world, the earth. In other words what is happening in OUR home. I was surprised about how much I appreciated this film. I thought the visual footage was stunning and showed some of the most amazing natural and man made occurrences on our planet. Along with it went a strong message about climate change and global warming which is something that affects our home and is something in the current affairs of today. It is almost painful to see what beauty we are destroying just by doing things that appear so simple to us in our everyday lives. If we don’t destroy our individual homes, why should we destroy our collective one?

In response to this video I would like to now explore this footage through painting and also continue to discover how people consider home and where exactly people live.

I have done some paintings that I have created from stills from the video. I wanted to practice my painting skills because I feel I have not used them as much as I would have liked throughout the year and for that reason I may have become a little rusty.

_MG_1215 EDIT _MG_1216 EDIT _MG_1217 EDIT

 

For some first experiments I feel these have all come out well. I think my skills can infinitely be improved on, maybe if I have time I will try and work in more detail and use a different medium to highlight this, for now however considering they are experiments, I would like to put more work into experimenting and trying other techniques.

Where Children Sleep book – James Mollison

In relation to this film I have found an interesting photography project by James Mollison who I initially discovered on Facebook. I saw his book Where Children Sleep and remembered how much I appreciated it and thought I could use it as part of my research looking at the notion of home and how they differ for different people throughout the world. Although the world is our communal home, we all live in an alternative location and situation. I think this article not only shows us how much countries vary but they also touch us and are incredibly thought-provoking.

http://jamesmollison.com/books/where-children-sleep/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bibliography 

Home Video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqxENMKaeCU)

Where Children Sleep book http://jamesmollison.com/books/where-children-sleep/

Leave a Reply

