Home

Even though I have only been at the University for just over a month, I know that this is the right place for me. I have really enjoyed starting my course and completing the Viscom Unit that I have been inspired and motivated to achieve higher. When I started my course I felt very apprehensive not really knowing what I was going to experience and how I was going to adapt being with lots of artists and designers who are creating high quality work. However I feel I have fitted in to my new surrounding and adapted quickly to the changes in my environment.

Over the last few weeks I have loved having the opportunity to try new skills and new techniques that have really opened my eyes to a new way of working  and given me a new outlook on my practice as an artist. I have gained so much confidence in different areas and I am happy I had the chance to expand on my drawing skills and gain a knowledge of Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign that I didn’t have before.

With the highs there have of course been lows. I think a low for me was the amount of stress I have felt about this project, and unnecessary stress at that. I found that it was a lot of hard work but I wanted to motivate myself because I want to make the most of this opportunity  at university. At times I know my time management wasn’t as good as it could be but this is something that I hope to get the hang of in the next few months and hopefully I will fall into a rhythm that I am comfortable with.

I am someone who feels that there is always room for improvement so it’s quite hard to pinpoint my strengths. I always want to work to the best of my ability in order to get out the best possible outcome on all of my projects. I am quite quick at picking up things and remembering processes, when I know how to do something I think that is when I feel most comfortable and confident in my artwork. In the last few weeks I’m going to say that I felt most confident in the printing workshops, I found out it is a technique I’d be interested to pursue further in order to better improve my skills

I have learnt so much over the last few weeks and not only in workshops but in theory too. I have been told about, and discovered though self directed study, lots of new artists/designer/makers which I have really inspired me. One in particular who I loved learning about was Hannah Davies who I found in my own personal research, I can’t wait to explore her technique and artwork further.

Keeping my journal has been a new and exciting experience for me. To me it has become like my sketchbook where I mark and write everything down and expand on new ideas. I think it is a great resource for not only looking at past projects but sourcing ideas for new ones.

Overall I have loved my first weeks at university and I hope it just keeps getting better!

Leave a Reply

