Home

14/11/13

Today was our second day of the drawing workshop and was mainly focused on hand eye coordination.

At the beginning of the session we started by doing a 2 minute, 5 minute and 10 minute drawing of a classmate.

Here is my 2 minute drawing.

IMG_7113 edit

This is my 5 minute drawing.

IMG_7115 edit

And finally my 10 minute drawing.

IMG_7120

I personally think that from the beginning of the week I have improved my drawing of faces. I really like my first and second drawings however in the 10 minute one I think I used too much shadow and it ruined the effect I wanted to create. I would like to work more on using shading in my faces but I think I need to explore the concept further first.

Our main task of the day was to work on a technique that is used by American artist Matthew Barney, which involves body restraint. Barney suspends himself in the air which then provides him with different muscles to use instead of what he would normally use for drawing. This creates a unique and interesting outcome.

barney1-9533 Creating Drawing Restraint 2 1988                                  Source: http://www.theguardian.com/arts/gallery/2007/sep/21/matthewbarney#/?picture=330791111&index=0

We were asked to sit in a circle around a still life piece Hannah had set up with a piece of A1 paper.

WP_20131114_009

Hannah asked us to attach our pencils to a 2ft stick, hold it at the end and draw a still life piece with it. Because of the 2ft stick we couldn’t sit down and draw so we had to stand and bend over our paper. This was really challenging as we only had 15 minutes to complete our drawings, it was hard to draw with the 2ft stick as I couldn’t make as precise pencil marks as I usually would and I ended up making either really wonky lines or sharper harsher marks. Hannah wondered if I usually use the harsher marks in my drawing and I didn’t, she suggested that it would be interesting to try using them in the future as they created a nice effect. I created more forms with the 2ft stick technique than actual shading, it looked quite basic and almost childlike.

Here is my drawing using the 2ft stick and a zoom in of my harsher lines.

WP_20131114_004 edit WP_20131114_005

Next we reduced the stick to a 1ft stick which although it was still a challenge I had much more control over what I was doing. This aided me in adding more shading and detail than in my previous drawing. I also got to add a bit more strength to my previous forms and define and shape the lines which were wonky. After another 15 minutes this is what my drawing looked like.

WP_20131114_006 edit

After doing this we drew with a pencil but we could only hold the end of it. This used the muscles in our fingertips and wrist whereas previously we had been using our arm and wrist because we had a lot less control. I used this to create more detail in my work and do a lot more shading. My lines became permanent and the forms became solid. We done this again for 15 minutes and this is what happened to my drawing.

WP_20131114_011 (1) edit

The last part of this exercise involved just using a pencil as we normally would. I really worked on forming a ground and a background for my piece and making sure some little details were smoothed out. I wanted to enhance the darkest shades to make a contrast with the lighter shades on the still life. After an hour of drawing in total this is what I created.

WP_20131114_013 edit

I am pleased with how this piece has turned out. I have never done a drawing on a A1 piece of paper so this was a new experience for me. Creating a piece like this and learning a new technique has inspired me to try more drawing and I really would like to explore and enhance my skills.

We looked at five drawings from different people and had a group discussion about them. I found it interesting to see why people made certain choices about the way they had drawn the still life. The way people had faced the challenge of how to draw with the stick varied and the way they had chosen to draw this piece also did. I was especially fascinated about how some of my classmates had used colour because it created a really bold, bright effect in contrast with the pencil.

To finish off with we briefly looked at the work of Julie Mehretu and Paul Noble.

I thought Julie Mehretu’s work was interesting. I loved the way she mixed colour and motion to create her piece. However I really loved Paul Noble’s work! His use of orthogonal oblique perspective was something that caught my eye and his simple pencil drawings in which he creates a small world are dainty and mysterious, they remind me of Where’s Wally. I love the piece “Ye Olde Ruin”, Noble compares us to an angel “no longer earthbound but hovers like an angel over the described scene, taking in the entire design.” ( Source: http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2009/sep/19/paul-noble-how-he-draws) I think this is a really good way to describe the viewer of his piece and his intention for the viewer. He compares us to something holy and important whilst we look over his art.

Paul-Noble-Ye-Olde-Ruin-d-001Paul Noble – Ye Olde Ruin (2003-4)                               Source: http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2009/sep/19/paul-noble-how-he-draws

8373998299204B1C6172Julie Mehredu – Renegade Delirium (2002)                      Source: http://www.walkerart.org/archive/2/AF7361E991C363206165.htm

Leave a Reply

