Home

7/11/13

Using Illustrator

When we came in this morning, Anna showed us different artists who had used mixed media which involved either photoshop or Illustrator in the artwork. For example some artists had mixed  painting and drawing and then enhanced and edited them in Photoshop. These were really inspiring and I would like to look at using mixed media in my final poster.

The first thing we did in Illustrator was explore a little the toolbar. We learnt about how to select objects in different ways since we couldn’t use the magic wand for everything. On Illustrator the magic wand selects everything that is in the same shade of colour, the lasso tool selects one object that we circle manually and the selection tool selects the whole image.

After doing this we got to experiment with shapes, colour and brush strokes.

In this experiment I used different brush strokes to see what techniques I could create. The one I really liked was the one that looked like a thin paintbrush, it is really elegant and delicate. I also used a thicker bolder brush and a watercolour brush.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.44.42

Here I experimented with shapes. On the left I warped the shape with a lower Arc and then expanded the appearance so that the arc became part of my shape. I then added in three smaller circle shapes and a brush style frame around the shape. I then added in little brush strokes for a more scrap like effect. I then experimented with filling the shape in different colours and I eventually chose something quite sleek that complemented well with the rough effect of the frame.

On the right I done a simple rectangle and filled it with green and just played around with the different frames and frame widths.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.43.41 Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.44.09

Next, we made a small badge design. I started off with a simple rectangle and warped the shape by giving it  an upper arc. I then expanded the appearance so that the two shapes became one shape and it was all the same colour of pink. I then added some small round edged rectangles on either side of the bottom where I hadn’t warped the shape. I grouped the two small rectangles together and then grouped them with the bigger shape in order that I could divide and minus the small rectangles from the shape using pathfinder, leaving me with a hole where I placed the original small rectangles.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.49.41

I then used the Offset Path to create a second border inside of my shape. I made this -4mm within the shape to create a frame inside my shape.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.52.17

I filled the line width in pink and placed a pattern on top of the inside colour. Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.32.06

I then made both the outside line and the Offset Path line a lot thicker and put them in black to make more of a statement.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.34.38

I added a star and again coloured it in pink and added a border of black. I also put an A to show how I could use text in my design.

This is the outcome of my work on Illustrator.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.42.49

final art illustrator

I would love to try using Illustrator again because although I am pleased with the outcome, I think I could create something a lot better.  I would love to have centered the star and also made a more fluid transition between the star and the A. However for my first time I am happy with my design, overall pattern and idea. It really stands out and it looks aesthetically pleasing as well.

After doing this we also looked at how we could take a drawing or a sketch and change it from bitmap to vector. This is completed using Image Trace and it makes it so the drawing is easier to work with and is much smoother.

I experimented using image trace by using a photo of Obama and vectoring it. This was the outcome.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 12.16.53 Source: http://www.npg.si.edu/exhibit/feature/schoeller.html

Using Indesign

We looked briefly at using Indesign and at some of it uses. Indesign can be used to create books, portfolios, pages and in a very high quality and precise way.

We can move images to the back and to the front , we can place photos and edit them on the screen and we can change the way they fit in the cadre. It is also possible to change the columns and margins to get the exact measurements of what we want to be printed at the end.

Below you can see how I have created a page that has some text and is ready to have photos inserted.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 13.15.03

 

Although today we only looked briefly at Indesign, it is something I would like to explore further in order to create a professional portfolio.

Leave a Reply

