Home

4/11/13

Today was the first day of Creative Suite. After introducing ourselves we talked about the different programs we would be using this week. This included Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign. We then embarked on some poster research for our selected song which you can see in my post “Poster Research”. Afterwards we were split into groups and had to find information on a certain element of Photoshop. My group was in charge of finding out about the Toolbar, Layering and the selection tool.

In the afternoon, we presented in groups our research we done on Photoshop. After this we started learning how to do layers on Photoshop, this is what I came up with.

Firstly I started by uploading an image onto Photoshop.

kitten

Source: http://www.rachelkasa.com/?p=136

I then changed this image into black and white and saved it as a jpeg image. Afterwards I re-uploaded the black and white jpeg and called it layer 0.

I then uploaded the original image on top of it and called that layer 1. Using the quick selection tool, I selected the shape of the kitten, this is the part that would remain in colour. We then used the edit in standard mode to see if we had missed anything when we selected and then we refined the edges. We then used blur to make the edges smoother. To create the final effect we clicked on add layer mask.

This is what I produced today in this workshop.

As you can see the kitten is in colour and the background is in black and white and this is the effect of a Mask Layer which I wanted to achieve. I feel my work has been successful and I have started to learn how to use Photoshop in a productive way which is an achievement for me seeing as though this if the first time I have used this program.

Leave a Reply

