Home

The man who heard his paintbox hiss – Ossian Ward

Ossian Ward discusses in his article, synaethesia and its link with Russian- born abstract artist Wassily Kandinsky. Although the point about the uncertainty of Kandinsky’s synaesthesia is once again put into debate, Ward constructs a carefully thought out article which not only discusses a link between Kandinsky and synaesthesia but also  how synaestesia can affect people and especially how it influences their artwork.

I found the whole article very insightful. I learnt a lot about Kandinsky’s synaesthesia and found it interesting how he really opened up a different style of art to what he previously was creating. Ward states “Kandinsky achieved pure abstraction by replacing the castles and hilltop towers of his early landscapes with stabs of paint or, as he saw them, musical notes and chords that would visually “sing” together.” ” We can see that Kandinsky really was inspired by the music he listened to and created himself. It was clearly a very crucial part of his life. “He wanted to evoke sound through sight and create the painterly equivalent of a symphony that would stimulate not just the eyes but the ears as well.” Kandinsky’s life was almost centred around music and created these music influenced pieces. Personally I believe Kandinsky has synaesthesia because his way of explaining music and colour is so clear and focused that is really hard as a non-synaethesic person, such as myself, to see music and colour in the same way as he did.

Kandinsky’s work really interests me as it takes music and art to a different level. In my initial research on Kandinsky I knew I wanted to find out more about him. I’m really glad I came across this article because Ward gives me a more in depth description of Kandinsky’s work and how his mind was working when he was creating. It inspires me to use patterns and shapes like Kandinsky has done, in my electives in the forthcoming weeks.

Source/Quotation Source: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/art/3653012/The-man-who-heard-his-paintbox-hiss.html

 

Leave a Reply

